13 I think it is right to refresh your memory  as long as I live in the tent of this body,  14 because I know that I will soon put it aside,  as our Lord Jesus Christ has made clear to me.  15 And I will make every effort to see that after my departure  you will always be able to remember these things.

 

Text-to-Text Connection

 

A Church Divided Over Leaders

10 I appeal to you, brothers and sisters, 1  in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that all of you agree with one another in what you say and that there be no divisions among you,  but that you be perfectly united  in mind and thought. 11 My brothers and sisters, some from Chloe’s household  have informed me that there are quarrels among you. 12 What I mean is this: One of you says, “ I follow Paul”;  another, “I follow Apollos”;  another, “I follow Cephas 2 ”; still another, “I follow Christ.” 13 Is Christ divided? Was Paul crucified for you? Were you baptized in the name of Paul?  14 I thank God that I did not baptize any of you except Crispus  and Gaius,  15so no one can say that you were baptized in my name. 16 (Yes, I also baptized the household  of Stephanas;  beyond that, I don’t remember if I baptized anyone else.) 17 For Christ did not send me to baptize,  but to preach the gospel— not with wisdom and eloquence, lest the cross of Christ be emptied of its power.

 

Peter was giving them one last pep talk before his departure.  He wanted them to understand that they needed to press on and not look back.  His tone shows concern and urgency for his fellow believers, wanting them to move forward without his physical presence.  I made a text-to-text connection with 1 Corinthians 1:10-17.  Paul is encouraging them to move forward in unity.  His words are plain and clear!  Stop fighting and quit picking sides!  A leader must prepare others to move forward in his absence.  A body of believers who continue  to cling to a previous pastor is spiritually sick.  A pastor is an enabler who continues to stay connected to a previous congregation.  Jesus prepared his disciples to move forward without him.  Though they may have yearned for his physical presence, they knew their mission.  As believers we too have that same mission, the mission to carry on!  Your pastor is not God!  God will never share the stage with him!  It would be in his best interest to exit from the stage!  Soon!

 

 

 

 

(2013-10-01). The MacArthur Study Bible, NIV (Signature) (Kindle Locations 298454-298461). Thomas Nelson. Kindle Edition.
(2013-10-01). The MacArthur Study Bible, NIV (Signature) (Kindle Locations 268647-268670). Thomas Nelson. Kindle Edition.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

