A Heart Like Jonah . . . .

With popcorn in one hand and soda in the other I rested my back against the wall to watch the fireworks. You see, God sent me to Nineveh to tell them to shape up or He was going to punish them (the first time he sent me to Nineveh I didn’t listen, things didn’t go well), so I “went out of the city and sat on the east side of the city and waited“.  Jonah 4:5 MSG

Do you know those wicked people repented and the Lord forgave them.  I kind of was hoping the Lord would blast them off the face of this earth, but they repented and the Lord spared their lives.

Now before you put that self-righteous smirk on your face and look at me with those condescending eyes, look down at your knuckles. Look how white they are from grasping those stones you have in your hands, those stones of bitterness, those stones of anger, those stones of arrogance, and those stones of pride. All are a form of hatred.

In Chapter 8, verse 7, of the book of John, Jesus said, “The sinless one among you, go first: Throw the stone.” MSG Go ahead throw that stone if you are perfect or be a man and admit you were wrong and throw those stones down.

I think I will drop my stones; I am really tired of carrying them around anyway (note to self, don’t pick them back up, EVER!). Now it’s your turn,what are you going to do with your stones? Carry them or throw them down! Choose Wisely!


Follower of the Way
Leave a Reply

