The Card

Do you ever pull “the card?”  You know the card I speak of, the “Do you know who I am card?” The “Do you know who my  husband is . . . . . Do you know how long I have lived in this town . . . . . Do you know who my daddy is . . . . . . Do you know who my father-in-law is. . . . . . Do you know my mother is the great-granddaughter of . . . .  Yes we all have “the card” we think we can pull.



The card of manipulation.


The card of power.


Well, Jesus had the ultimate card.  He had “Do you know who my DADDY is” card, but he didn’t use it. He could have though.  When he was on the mountain being tempted by Satan, he could have.  When choosing the disciples, he could have not chosen Judas. When it came time to die on the cross, he could have said, “Dad I’m thinking this cross thing is not looking good.  How about I postpone this thing for a little while longer. You know Dad, maybe I need to wait until the time is just right.” Yes, Jesus had the ultimate card but chose not to pull it.
Where does that leave us?  Well, it leaves us in quiet a mess, if you think about it.  The only power we have is the power God allows us to have.  Here let’s look at the verse together so we can know for certain.  “So Pilate said to Him, Will You not speak [even] to me? Do You not know that I have power (authority) to release You and I have power to crucify You? Jesus answered, You would not have any power or authority whatsoever against (over) Me if it were not given you from above. For this reason the sin and guilt of the one who delivered Me over to you is greater. Upon this, Pilate wanted (sought, was anxious) to release Him, but the Jews kept shrieking, If you release this Man, you are no friend of Caesar! Anybody who makes himself [out to be] a king sets himself up against Caesar [is a rebel against the emperor]!”  John 19:10-12 Amplified Bible (AMP). 


So you see, the only power we have is the power God has allowed us to have. HE gives power and HE takes power away. It was never ours to begin with, it has always belong to God. Now, the next time you say, “Do you know . . . . . think about it long and hard. Pilate used his power to kill an innocent man. How do you use your “power?”


In His Name,
Snowbyrrd



   
Leave a Reply

